current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:55 p.m. - 26 July 2002
not mumps, mono!

welly welly welly. I went back to the doctor on Tuesday, for the third visit in two weeks, because I was not feeling better. symptoms of mumps typically take 10 days to disappear and I was on day 14-15 at this point. so, back I went, to see a third doctor, who acted very puzzled once she took down all my symptoms and examined me.

"You don't have mumps," she pronounced. confused, I replied, "I don't?" "No," she said, "Your tests showed you had mumps before, which could've been from your childhood vaccination." so basically the first two doctors I dealt with were assholes because a) they both told me I had mumps; and b) they never took the time to call me about the test results and to tell me to come back in. this new, better doctor sat down at the computer and announced she was going to order the following new tests: blood, urine, TB, and chest x-ray. none of these things thrilled me, but it had to be done. she told me she thought I had mono, but wasn't sure because only the left side of my neck was swollen and that was very unusual.

so I had the grody TB test, which involved having a bubble of medicine injected under my skin (yecch!), I collected my own urine (educational!), and then walked myself over to the lab area to sit in wait for yet another horrible blood letting. fortunately, I managed not to almost pass out this time around, so I think I'm turning into a big girl in that arena. after that I took the elevator down to the radiology area and was told I could have up to an hour wait. I got in eventually, changed into the surprisingly flattering robe, and had my chest x-rayed from two views. so many new things this year.

the next day the doctor called to let me know my tests showed I do actually have mono, and I felt an odd mixture of relief and disappointment. relief because now the mumps jokes can stop and I know what's going on, and disappointment because how the fuck much longer will it last? anyway, to wrap this up, I'm now at home indefinitely, but have brought things from work so I'll have at least a shred of vacation left when I return.

in other news, it's amazing how delicious vegetable broth can be if you buy the right kind. I'm eating some right now and good Lord, I could live off this for days! in fact, perhaps I will.

ok I think I'll go watch yet another rented video now. I actually am feeling really good today apart from the bone dry throat. I'm predicting that by next Thursday, I'll be back in the saddle again. although just saying that has probably cursed me to another month in bed. but oh well. c'est la guerre in your underwear. or something.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com