current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

10:57 a.m. - 29 July 2003
farewell, raisin' hell, weddin' bells (pointless rhyming subtitle: buttery nips and pussy lips.)

first off, is it bad that I don't feel very upset about Bob Hope's death? I think I'm just too young to appreciate it, although I do remember my parents watching a lot of Bob Hope stuff on television while I was growing up. and I remember thinking that the old man looked important and must be something special. but I just never quite got into Bob Hope.

end of that.

my weekend was pretty good. I had a work party on Friday night at the house of the one director in my department that I like. therefore, it was nice. I was one of the first people there so I got the first crack at the appetizers: cheese. OHHH how I ate cheese that night. cheese and cheese and cheese. it was delightful. then everyone else came and I stopped eating cheese because it was becoming shameful that I was eating all the cheese.

later in the evening, hamburgler came with her freaky little dog (with which she has a very odd relationship--she boards the dog every day and calls the boarder on a regular basis to inquire about the dog's well-being, for example). as soon as hb walked in, she made a beeline (or should I say, a bullline?) for the food. one of her first conquests was a tortilla chip with salsa on it, only instead of eating a chip with salsa on it like a normal person, hb flipped the chip over on the way to her mouth, causing the salsa to spill all over her shirt. which is what happens when gravity is involved in the eating process. hb spills food on herself every day. but I never eat with her on purpose, so seeing that was incredible. all I could do was turn to some of my co-workers and ask, stunned, "did you SEE that?!?" they just nodded sadly. and the forceful, carniverous method of eating food continued. and then hb held her dog on her lap for a good 85% of the party, despite the fact that the dog's paws were making her white pants brown with dirt.

as for me, I stuffed myself silly when the main meal (cheeseburgers) came and really made myself uncomfortable with the amount of food I put in me. but it's not like that wasn't unexpected. happily, at the end of the night, I conned a ride home with him one of the newer employees.

riding along with us was broken record, whose last day in my office was that day. he's going to grad school in the fall, but this does not make me sad because broken record has made me uncomfortable recently with his awkward attempts at touching me. for example, I'd gone out with him and a few other co-workers as a send of for br, and towards the end of the evening he kept putting his arm around my waist, or touching my arm, or patting my waist. I cannot express how much I hate having my waist touched by people I don't want to touch me at all. let's keep the hands off the worst part of my body, thanks!

anyway, the new employee dropped off br at a bus stop, so I got out of the car to give him a goodbye hug since he's moving on Wednesday and since it was the polite thing to do. only he went in for the cheek kiss, which made me uncomfortable and ugh. enought of that.

anyway, I got ropped me off at my house around 10:30 or so and I planned to just sit on my couch, groaning with the weight of my belly, but when April came home from work she wanted a drink so I reluctantly went along. when we first got to the bar I drank only water because of the fullness of my belly. but then I decided to have a beer and that's when all the activity started, coincidentally.

I had gone to the bathroom at one point and came back to find a guy talking to April. he was attempting to buy 2 cigarettes for $1. April was out of smokes, but I was eager to make a buck, so I sold him two of mine. then the three of us started chatting and the guy was very nice looking and funny, so I was happy with that. and then he went back to talk to his friends and April said, "I think he likes you," which I had been wondering about.

he came back a little while later and talked to me mostly for at least another half hour and bought us some beers. and then one of his friends came over and then we had to talk to him. well, while the friend was talking to us, the first guy walked away, and then I went to the bathroom and when I came back the first guy and all of his friends all left. I was sad. but then it was closing time anyway so it was ok. oh yeah, and April and I were forced to run out on our bill. like I said, it was closing time, and the bartenders were shouting at everyone to leave and then they came around to tell us to pack it up. we hadn't paid for any of our beers yet (and only had 3 beers on our tab), so we just kind of looked at each other, shrugged, and left. we go to that place fairly regularly and they always seems to charge us less than we actually consume, so whatever!

so April and I went to a bar next door, one that's open till 4am, and luckily got a seat at one of the bars. this place is a total meet market after 2am since it's open till 4, and hence it gets pretty interesting. April and I were being stupid and singing/miming along to the music since that can be an entertaining thing to do. then this guy next to me starts talking to me and telling me how its his and his friend's last weekend in Chicago, so they're hitting all the places they used to go. they were moving to Nigeria (yes, that Nigeria) and blah blah blah, would we like to come back to their apartment? I politely declined, and then later the guy told me he had "a humungous cock," so I whipped into smart-ass mode with a few "REALLY? huh, well I hear that can be a problem at times. MAN that must be really cumbersome for you...." and other stupid things. eventually he and his friend left the bar.

then this big fat drunk man who had been standing behind us started talking to us and I was being a smart-ass to him too. he bought us shots of buttery nipples, or buttery nips as he called it, and then subsequently spilled a few drops on April's white skirt, which prompted her to start yelling at him. he walked away a while later. then this guy who had been standing across the bar from us waved at April, and then at me, and April promptly dubbed him "pussy lips," which I choose not to explain here because even I don't really get it. pussy lips came over to talk eventually and turned out to be the most boring person alive. right after he started walking away, April coughed, "pussy" into her hands and I thought I was going to die laughing.

then somewhere along the line, the following events happened: first a girl standing behind me flat out passed out and fell completely over, unconscious for a few minutes. she was laying on the floor and everything and her hair was wet with floor beer. it was scary, but she was ok in the end. and then this other girl started shouting at a guy standing behind April and then threw her beer on him. there was some splashing of beer onto me and April too so we then yelled at the girl. because we're nice.

then, not long afterwards, I saw April smiling at someone and turned around to see a guy that not only works at my work, but also used to wait for the bus at the same stop as I do EVERY DAY. I never knew his name and we never spoke to each other, but we'd get on the bus at the same time, get off at the same time, walk into the building at the same time, and take the elevator together at least 3-4 times a week. it was kind of awkward. so I was horrified to see April making faces at him. I begged her not to talk to him because it would be so weird and awkward, so she didn't.

shortly thereafter April went to the bathroom and was gone a while. when she came back she told me the work guy had followed her to the bathroom to talk to her. I was horrified all over again. and then the bartender bought us a shot, so we took that. then it was time for the bar to close (ie, 4am) so we started to leave and I begged April again not to talk to the work guy on the way out, but it was unavoidable. fortunately the talk was short and uneventful, and I stood at a distance, so I escaped any sort of weirdness.

then we went home, sat down on the couch to watch some tv, and both passed out. I woke up at 6:30 and woke up April to say, "we should go to bed now."

Saturday was spent recuperating, Saturday night was spent eating brownies (totally wasted the evening that night), Sunday was spent recuperating. haha, I'm lazy.

and now some more news: my sister's getting married! my dad called me last night to tell me that Greg had asked my parents' permission to ask for Adrienne's hand in marriage and then when my parents said yes, he proposed to Adrienne. so they're going to have a civil ceremony shortly and then my mom wants to have a reception in December. my parents are very happy. I am happy too.

and I think that's about it. made a frittata last night for a picnic at Ravinia tonight, but yep, that sums it up for now.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com