current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:45 p.m. - 19 February 2003
offense, letter from the pubic, book in mail, letter from the docta

last night I was riding the bus back from dropping off Stacey at O'Hare and about halfway through the ride, a woman in a fur coat got on the bus. all of a sudden I hear her yelling something at an Asian girl about going back to her country. she was shouting incredibly loud and unleashing all these horrible profanities; I was totally stunned. the worst part was no one ever said anything and some people just laughed at the woman. she pushed her way through to a seat behind me and I smelled the strong odor of alcohol on her. the woman chose a seat behind two Hispanic people having a conversation in their native languages and then began yelling again, loudly and with profanity, about learning English or some other repulsive thing. my mouth fell open in shock and I wanted to turn around and yell at her to get off the bus, but I've learned that arguing with drunk and/or insane people on bus is normally more futile and slightly unintelligent than it is effective or satisfying. towards the end of my ride, a guy disembarked and yelled back at the woman that she was a "racist bitch." racist I agreed with, but I thought the "bitch" part was unneccesary, although not completely unwarranted.


while at work today, pink lady dropped off a letter for me to respond to. I opened the letter to find a printed email that included a printed-out photograph of a cheerleader in the middle of a high kick with pubic hair poking out of her uniform. a member of the public sent this to my office to complain that it had been passed around via email by his doctor. all I could do was yell "what the hell??" people are nuts.

also today at work I received in the mail an out-of-print art book I've been searching for over a few years. whenever I'd found it in the past, it usually cost over $100, but glorious Ebay found it for me at $18. it's in excellent condition and I'm so happy I finally found it!

when I got home from work, I picked up the mail to find a letter from my oral surgeon. of course, I started worrying that it was a letter asking to reschedule my wisdom teeth removal (my gynecologist's office always sends rescheduling notices in the mail and it's very frustrating). I opened the letter and right inside was a check refunding me for half the cost of the panoramic x-ray they did on me back in January. I was so happy I started jumping up and down because I wasn't really sure how these next two weeks were going to go since I'm so low on cash. it was such a great surprise. thank you, dental insurance!!

add to that the fact it smelled like spring outside today and it was a pretty good Wednesday, all around.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com