current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

2:12 p.m. - 28 October 2002
why can't my life be a non-stop weekend?

Mondays and work weeks in general are so very, very stupid.

Saturday afternoon I made myself a late lunch of scrambled eggs, tomatoes, and potatoes, ate it up, and then laid down for a nap circa 4pm. my plan was to sleep some energy into my body for at least a half hour so I wouldn't collapse of fatigue at the concert I was attending that night.

April came in my room and woke me up at 4:30 to tell me that K, a photographer not from Chicago who travels a little with the band I was seeing that night, was on the phone. I've known him for about two years now, having met him the first time the band came to town at Schubas. he emailed me a lot after we first met, sent me mix CDs, a CD of his photos of the band, promised me a t-shirt he'd made, and then just stopped emailing me altogether. so that was annoying. K's just a little weird in general. he was very facetious about revealing his actual age to me when I met up with him at a non-concert setting last year (I think he's around 35 now) and the last time I saw him, a few months ago, he was a bit cold towards me. also, he was wearing denim overalls with a green wool sweater and red plaid shirt layered underneath the overalls last time I saw him. and he had an Alexi Lalas-style beard. so, you know. I wasn't too thrilled to speak to him.

I said "hello" and K explained he was in town for the show and that the drummer wanted to make sure that Megan, April, and I were coming tonight.

you see, we, or rather, April and Megan, have a bit of a history with the band of the night. April has slept with the keyboard player every time the band has been in town, once in the backstage bathroom at Metro, a bathroom which offers no doors on the stalls. people walked in and out the whole time. so that was classy. as for Megan, the drummer is completely smitten with her, but she's kept all the love on-the-level, with a strict no-clothes-off policy. also, the drummer is a bit old and not so pretty and Meg isn't really attacted to him, so it's just not necessary.

as for me, I'm in love with the main person in the band, but he's got a girlfriend and offspring, so it's just genial admiration. me no touchie another lady's man.

anyway, K asked if I would like to speak to Drummer. I said sure, and he handed Drummer the phone. Drummer said hello, I asked him how the tour was going, etc. etc. and then he asked whether Megan and everyone were coming. I said we were and he asked if we had tickets. I said we did and he asked if we'd like to be put on the guest list. I said that would be nice and he took our names and suggested we could sell our tickets in the front of the venue. then I said, thanks, we'll see you soon, and I said goodbye. so that was pretty cool.

I mean, it was a sold-out show, and since we all wanted to hang out with the band afterward anyway, it was nice to just cut through all that dastardly hanging around after the show to wait for a band member to send someone to get you. although I will say I felt like the biggest dweeb in town for having a backstage pass on my leg and standing at the front of the crowd. but I's gots to be up front!

anyway, we went to the show and jumped the line thanks to our privilege and got a great position up front. the show was great, and afterwards we hung out a bit with the band. April got really screwed because the keyboard player is now a jaded coke fiend, as opposed to the friendly, gentlemanly, funny chap he was the first time she met him. he pulled her in to the dressing room bathroom, took a piss, asked her to "top [him] off," and then fucked her from behind for two seconds. and that was it. also, she found out from someone else that he not only has a fianc�e but also a 10 year old son. after hearing all this, I urged April to not ever touch the dirty dog ever again, no mattter what. her response has me unconvinced that she'll maintain her resolve.

Megan and Drummer sat quietly during the aftershow time, holding hands and occasionally making out. it was funny and weird at the same time.

Stephen, who I'd called after I realized I could get him a backstage pass too, was in heaven because an ex-Smiths was touring with the band and he got to meet him.

I was abuzz from the show and just bopping from person to person, chatting about how dumb this particular venue's fake backstage was (it was the balcony, for the most part) and asking where was all the booze?

the band left the venue at 1am to head off for their next show and my posse split, Meg and April and I to a bar for 1/2 of a drink, Stephen and some others to home.

Sunday Meg and April and I met up with K to look at some of his shots from shows past and I was wowed by how long my hair was a year and a half ago. I was also dismayed to see my sneaky-ass double chin had nudged its way into more than a few shots. damn this double chin and its devious ways of only coming out in certain situations! if I had no deep convictions about the overly superficial and insecure and expensive nature of plastic surgery, I'd get it sucked and snipped right off my head. but I'm against the principle, and I refuse to do those stupid face exercises with that device they sell on TV. so it's here to stay.

anyway, after that we ate some bruch and I drank a lot of Coke, which I only do to cure hangover (it's Diet Coke all the way otherwise) and then got some coffee and then ate a hunk of chocolate toffee and then we went to see "The Rules of Attraction," which was good but hard to watch in parts. and then I went home and watched the HBO shows and went to bed because this daylight savings miracle has me sleepy at 10pm now.

so that was quite an active Sunday for me! and quite an active weekend, when you take Friday night into consideration (click "last entry" for details).

today I've written a lot of emails and done a little work. and I went to try to find black boots during my lunch break but ended up getting 2 brown shirts and three pairs of black tights (two patterned) at Old Navy. which is typical. shopping's a pain. but I'll find a pair of boots this week if it kills me. I need lots of new shoes. also, Old Navy's pants have convinced me that my body is somehow the wrong shape for two-legged clothing. but let's not discuss that.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com