current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:10 p.m. - 08 September 2002
working on my recollection

this morning my hair is wild from sleeping with Bumble and Bumble Surf Spray in it and my hands are heavily scented with the aroma of cigarettes. I drank four (4) pints of beer last night and ended up real, real drunk. why, mommy? after falling asleep quickly around 4am, I had a dream about drinking glass after glass of water, and then another dream about my parents' VCR having the ability to shoot out golden water by pressing a clear, die-shaped button on the remote called "golden lights" (also the title of a Smiths song). I think that dream was the beer talking.

wait, it's not really morning at all, is it? well to me it is.

yesterday morning (for real), I woke up in anger when the pounding from the construction in the storefront below my apartment started at 8:15. on a Saturday. it was so loud and forceful that I could feel the vibrations through my bed frame. I put in earplugs that I saved from my weekend at Coachella and was able to sleep sporadically for two more hours, despite still being able to hear the pounding. when I finally reserved myself to the fact I couldn't sleep any more, I went into the living room to lay on the couch and felt the body of the couch wracked with shocks from even more pounding. it was not a fun morning. apparently, screaming "I HATE YOU!!!" at the floor and outside of the construction area isn't an effective way to communicate "STOP POUNDING!!!" so I left a message with my landlord to see if maybe anything can be done. lawd, I hope so.

Oyster Fest last night was such a fucking bust. A and I spent about 20 minutes there total, after waiting in a porta-potty line that went nowhere and then a beer line that was equally stagnant. and then the crowds were so unbearable that we decided to just cut our ($20 total) losses and get the crap outta there. sad and annoying.

instead we met up with Megan and co. at Fado, where a friend of a friend's Irish band was playing. they were actually quite good and I probably would've jigged my ass off if it weren't for the lack of dance space. after 2 beers at Fado, we went up to the Ginger Man and I fed the jukebox a few bucks. halfway into my third beer, I started feeling a little loopy-drunk and at some point I called Stacey's voicemail to scream that one of our favorite songs was playing. I think I ended that call with "OK, I LOVE YOOOOUU!!! BYYEEEEE!" sometimes beer makes me effusive.

since greeting the morning today with a tumbler of Diet Coke, I've surfed around Diaryland to read random journals and it's been pretty pleasing, actually. the rest of my day should involve sitting, watching television and/or movies, and leaving the house once to buy Badly Drawn Boy tickets. because he's coming, and I heart him lots. I have two other concerts coming up soon (Gene and OK Go), both of which are at Metro, so hopefully I'll get to see my favorite PA high school alumnae who also lives in Chicago now. he is so fine.

long one.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com