current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

2:43 p.m. - 09 October 2002
work and reading and gross

laziness at work for the past three days now dictates that tomorrow I will be going absolutely insane trying to complete a project due before the end of the week. since I won't be in on Friday (due to upcoming friend invasion), this means I have tomorrow to finish it. honestly, it shouldn't be too difficult to do, but there's all this important emailing and website checking that I need to do for my own purposes...I can only devote so much of my effort to someone else's goals. really.

I finshed "Purple America" last night, which now makes me the happy reader of 3 Rick Moody books. I like him a lot. but after reading "The Corrections" and "Purple America" one after the other, I think it's time to stick to some fluff for a while. like magazines. only sometimes even the magazines have a catch. take this month's issue of "Spin." on the front, a woman's torso in a tight Foo Fighters half shirt. on the back, a woman's torso covered in sheer lingerie, with bottom of the boob visible, and a Trojan condom between the laces of her panties, which she is preparing to untie. oooh sexy. but oooh disturbing to try to read in public since it thusly looks like a sex mag. I feel like a big girl perv or something.

also last night I managed to wash up all the towels and sheets necessary for this weekend. and I also tackled the floor mat in the bathroom. this thing is a loopy cotton deal, and is supposed to be olive green and cream colored. but seeing as no one's washed it since, oh, let's say...June-ish? by the time I put it in the washer today, it was heavy with dirt, matted with hair, and just a dull grey. I know, it's so gross. I can't believe I touched it with my bare hands. ew. anyway, I decided that the condition of the rug warranted it its own washer, so in it went, with plenty of all-fabric bleach, detergent booster, etc. when I came down to toss the mat in dryer, it looked much better. and then I happened to notice inside the washer clumps of collected lint and hair that came off the mat while it was spinning dry. they were wet and had the appearance of big cat furballs and they were all over the basin, stuck along its walls and held fast by the drainage holes. I scraped off all the clumps I could and then ran a finger along the seemingly clean basin. when I pulled the finger out, it was grey with dust. I kind of yelped and then decided that I didn't want to spend another dollar on rinsing out the basin, so hopefully all the leftover grit would just rinse away with the next person's cycle. ah well. this isn't that interesting, but I can't believe I was walking on that disgusting excuse for a floor mat for so long. at least it's been restored to a shred of its former glory.

that's enough chatter for today. obviously. now me go to museum.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com