current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:35 p.m. - 16 April 2003
some day, spring will come.

ai yai yai, slowly coming down from the crazy-ass work weekend I had a few days ago. ain't nuttin' like 12 days working in a row!

but enough of that.

I've continued to be busy, which is totally weird. I'm so used to just plodding through work, coming home, plopping myself onto the couch, turning on The Simpsons, and then deflating for a few hours each night. but since Sunday, I come home to find someone else plopped on the couch (April's mom) watching really bad chick flicks (Stepmom, anyone?) and am compelled to instead lay on my bed for a while, staring out the window or reading until I feel deflated enough and hungry enough for dinner to go back out into the living room. although the woman did offer to take me out for eating last night. which was very nice of her. even though she wouldn't stop talking once (but then, who doesn't love a dissection of how far apart all of one person's siblings and cousins were born?).

it's a complete in-laws visiting thing. even though there's no in- or -law or even relationship to make it like that in any way.

now enough of that.

happily, all the busy-ness (business?) for the next week involves social activities. tonight, going out with some coworkers for some de-stressing drinks. tomorrow, probably going to see A Mighty Wind or drink with Jim. Friday, maybe going to see M. Ward or drink. Saturday, going to see Jen's new kitty (yay!) and to have lunch with her. Sunday, Easter, which means church and then food with the woman on the couch and the roommate. and then the woman on the couch leaves around 6pm.

next week the curator who I work for at the museum is taking me out for drinks to explain why, in her words, "you should never go to grad school" for art history. I'm kind of looking forward to it, in a "let's give her a chance to speak" way. I'm also kind of pissed she framed it to me that way. personally I think she's a big baby about grad school. she just sent off her disseration yesterday because the deadline is May 1, or else no PhD for her. I have a feeling her main argument will be "it becomes your life," which I understand completely. but the difference between grad school becoming my life and grad school becoming her life is that I am 25, unmarried, unattached, childless, and free and easy. she was (probably) in her early- to mid-40s when she started her PhD, married, and with mostly grown children, I think. anyway, I'm going to hear her out because I still have second thoughts even though I can't imagine doing anything else for a career.

as always, all of this hinges on the condition I don't come into a huge pile of cash. once huge pile of cash is secured, all bets on my future are off. maybe. I don't know.

in a related story, I had a dream last Friday morning that involved a white dog (a Borzoi, to be precise, and I don't know why, I've never known a Borzoi) constantly coming around me. I would pet it and it would walk away and then come back later. when I looked it up in my dream dictionary (or my "please reassure me I am not the crazy" book) white dog = good fortune will be coming your way soon.

OK, I'M READY!! COME ON, GOOD FORTUNE!!

oh man it was so beautiful outside on Monday and yesterday. gorgeous blue skies (for the most part), warm sun, and a perfect breeze (that became a strong wind yesterday, but still). not humid or overbearing. my ideal weather. to make it even better for me, the tree outside my bedroom window started showing buds for its leaves this morning. I'd been wondering when that was going to happen earlier this week. whenever I see the buds on the trees I am instantly transported back to the house where I spent most of my childhood (ages 3-12): I'd stare out my bedroom window at the big, budding oak tree each spring day, watching the leaves unfurl one by one. it's such a great thing to watch. I love looking at sun-dappled green leaves once they finally emerge.

ok I need to buckle down for this last hour of work before I head towards the museum. Wilco's "Being There" will help the hour speed away.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com