current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

11:50 p.m. - 08 June 2002
Elvis, Elvis, how I love Elvis

oooohhhhhh beautiful Elvis Costello...how I love him. I just got back from the concert. it ended a little early, but it was nice and good. it was like he read my mind for the playlist and I was clapping my hands with delight whenever one of the songs I'd hoped for started up. he played Little Triggers and I thought I'd wet my pants, even though he bumbled up the lyrics a bit. and then he played Clowntime is Over and I wanted to cry with happiness. Elvis concerts pull in such a funny crowd. it's about 75% old-timers who haven't been to a concert in years and 25% my-timers who know that it's not cool that Billy Bob Thornton was the opening act. man, he blew. and man, he needs a sandwich. truthfully, though, I'd suffer anyone in order to see Elvis onstage before long.


Joe's graduation party was today. April and I were all pumped to get our rental car and get on outta the city. we had to carefully time everything because the party started at 2, the drive was about 2 hours long, and I had to be back by 8 for the start of the concert, so we planned to have a solid 3 hours in Rockton and then drive back. we were at the airport, in the shuttle for the Budget pickup place, when Sara called and said that her car had broken down and could we pick up her and Jason. so after waiting 30 minutes for a 4-door auto (they initally offered us a pickup), we drove all the way back into the city and then started the drive out. there was so much freaking traffic that by the time we got to Rockton we only had about 1 1/2 hours of time to spend there and it ended up being a bit of a letdown since so much time was wasted picking up Sara and Jason and making the long drive. still, it was fun. and since they bummed a ride, Sara and Jason offered to pay for half of the rental. so really, everyone won in that situation. one weird thing about the party was that Sara, April, and I were the only girls over 18 without a wedding ring on our left hand. these midwesterners marry early, I tells ya! weird.


so now I'm sitting at home with all this energy from the concert and April's in bed and I have no playmate with whom to spend my hyperactivity. Jim's driving back from his parents' house and may join me for a drink, but I'm not going to hold my breath for that to happen. I guess I'll just have to take a few laps around the dining room table and sink into bed when that winds me down. oh well. c'est la vie. bonne nuit.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com