current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:55 a.m. - 07 June 2002
some things about Sam, sway, and try

hooray tomorrow I don't have to work.

I'm lunching with Sam today. I haven't seen him in a while, so it'll be fun to dish dirt to him about this place from whence I get my paycheck. one thing I like about Sam is that his name is Sam because it just suits him perfectly. when I first met Sam I thought for sure he was your stereotypical young Republican. he's white-White, Brown-educated, wears button-up collared shirts, has his pilot's license, was once a hansom cab driver, and is an obsessed technophile. but it turned out he's actually a crazy Democrat, card-carrying Rainbow Coalition member, and blues afficionado. I also thought he looked like a real tight-ass, and he can be in a few ways. but then there was the time he swiveled his hips along to some soul song that was playing in the cafeteria for my benefit, and then the time he called me at work pretending to be a member of the public telling me their doctor stuck his finger up his butt. I think one of my favorite memories of Sam was when he decided to register voters at work for the 2000 presidential election. there was an overwhelming response, and every time someone new would come up to his cubicle, I'd hear him say "Do you live in the city of Chicago?" after the second day of "Do you live in the city of Chicago?"s I just started to burst out laughing every time he uttered it. this would in turn make him start laughing, which must've undoubtedly alienated any waiting registrant. at any rate, lunch with him should be fun. I often get nostalgic for when he was my co-worker and not far away on the south side, attending medical school.

I'm currently listening to the Belle & Sebastian Storytelling album. I like how you can really hear the female's (Isobel's? Sarah's?) Scottish brogue in the song Storytelling. the melody of Wandering Alone is filling me with happiness. I started swaying my head from side to side sitting at my desk but then someone walked by and I had to snap out of it.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com