current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

2:03 p.m. - 30 October 2002
grinding down and winding up

last night I bought a pink rubber tote bag online and I can hardly contain my excitement waiting for it to come. I hope I like it and I haven't been fooled by the mercurial nature of glossy catalogue/webpage photos. I also found a nice coat that I will buy once the paycheck is secured tomorrow. and that will complete the string of purchases for myself that has been horribly ground to a halt by the disappearance of the birthday gift check. sure can't stop talking about that check, can I?

I hate how my weekdays of late have been overwhelmingly mundane. and I also hate how it's already November and I just know that the spring's going to push its way into my life before I know it and I'll be taking the GRE again and way off schedule for the grad school plan. thinking about all of this and thinking about financial planning and applications makes my head feel like it's buzzing, like an uncomfortably warm cap has been pulled over my skull and my eyes are slowly burning worry holes into whatever they happen to be half-looking at during these thoughts. ugh.

subject change.

Jim came over last night to watch The Real World, a show in which the characters' credibility has drastically descended over the past 3-4 years or so. I'd say maybe the Hawaii season was the start of the descent, and ever since the producers seem to enjoy going out on a limb to find the most on-the-brink-of-implosion personalities possible. I'm actually surprised they've never had anyone with a clear-cut mental illness or with a prediliction for young children on the show. or, why not a little person? maybe they should mix it up a bit and choose a woman who is 15 pounds "overweight" for the show. now that would be a powderkeg waiting to explode! and all the other roommates would have to have counseling in size sensitivity after calling her "fatty" one too many times. yeah. I'm liking that idea. (n.b. I know that Sharon from the London cast and Heather from the very first cast were both overweight women, but in more contemporary casts, it's been rail-thin or nothin'.)

hmm. gotta stop thinking about The Real World so much.

my point with that first fact about Jim coming over was not to flow into a discussion of RW characters, but to say that he and I had a jolly old period of joint reminiscence about our days in Paris. that was over three years ago now. my oh my I am old.

I should probably just stop typing now. mmm-kay, yeah.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com