current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:58 a.m. - 26 November 2002
a funny question and a-gonna drive

I forgot to mention that on Friday, an older co-worker came up to me and asked me a very strange question, point blank: have you ever snorted cocaine? I was highly amused by this question, and replied honestly, "No! Why?" she went on to explain that she'd just put some eyedrops in her eyes and could now feel them running down the back of her throat, much in the way that cocaine used to do after she snorted it "in the old days." I laughed a lot at this, mostly because the woman who stood in front of me telling me about her old cocaine habits is in her early 50s. I wanted to give her a hand for keepin' it real, late-1970s-style. but then I was faced with the question of why she would think I'd ever snorted cocaine. what kind of life does she think I lead? I guess it is really prevalent nowadays, and it wasn't viewed as such an evil narcotic back in the "old days," but still. I'm a good girl at work! I am! maybe she's smelled the nicotine on my coat and the lingering alcohol on my breath one too many mornings. ah well.

in preparation for my upcoming drive to Cincinnati, last night I dug my portable CD player and the car adapter out of the boxes in which they've been sitting for 1-2 years. I'll be damned if there's not a tape player in my rental car. when April and I drove from Pennsylvania to Chicago the day we moved here, there wasn't a tape player in the rental truck and I went a bit mental with trying to find some musical accompaniment to the 9-hour drive. this was especially exacerbated because April was sick as a dog and sleeping most of the time while I drove the entire length of the distance. we must've heard Christina Aguilera's "Come on Over" at least twice every hour and came to acknowledge it as our moving-to-Chicago theme song. tomorrow I'll be making a diagonal across the entire state of Indiana. this leaves a lot of room for the bad kind of contemporary country music and for the occasional Christian radio station. this cannot happen during my solo drive. so I hope Hertz lives up to its reputation and provides me with a vehicle that has complete circa 1986 ammenities. also, cruise control would be a coup.

yesterday I got a hit from a websearch for the word "pootang." and my first thought was, "wait, isn't it spelled "poontang"?

p.s. it's snowing outside . . .

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com