current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:36 p.m. - 27 November 2002
I will be on the road in 2 hours!

I am itching like mad to get out of this office and to get on the train to O'Hare, where my temporary vehicle awaits me. I want to leave now!

so yesterday was a gigantic gorge-fest for me. I guess I can just look at it as preparation for tomorrow's feeding time. for lunch I had a cup of French onion soup and a hot turkey sandwich with mashed potatoes and a little salad. it's because I went to a diner with work people and diner food is delicious no matter what. then for dinner I made a turkey-cheddar cheese monstrosity on French bread and toasted it in the oven. a big salad went with that too. the turkey theme was purely subconscious, now that I think about it. weird. then April brought home eggnog ice cream, gingerbread ice cream, and brandy. so for dessert I had a little eggnog ice cream with a little brandy on it and then because I can't deny myself the knowledge of all ice cream flavors existing in the world today, I had a few bites of gingerbread ice cream as well. oh and Diet Vanilla Coke was also involved somewhere in there. uuurgh my stomach is reeling just thinking about all I ate. must give it a break.

after packing up all my stuff for this upcoming drive to Cincinnati, I went to bed with the hopes that I could get a good 7 hours of sleep. this would've been possible if only the bastard builders in the space below my apartment hadn't chosen to do some pounding around 11:45pm. WHY? what about your effing bar opening is so urgent that you must pound and drill at 11:45pm on a Tuesday night?? I didn't know whether to cry, to call in a noise complaint to the police, to go down there and yell at them, or to try to fall back asleep. ultimately I chose the latter, although my heart was pounding like crazy and it was hard for me to calm back down. those builders are really making me hate them A LOT. at least I had the satisfaction of puking outside their front door that one time.

in preparation for her mother's visit, April has made our apartment so totally housewife-y that I can hardly stand it. first of all, she bought an apron, which is borderline housewife and borderline kitschy, I guess. then she carved a pumpkin centerpiece for her Thanksgiving dinner and placed a pot of daisies in it. that's still not too bad. she's also spent the last two nights and mornings preparing brine for a turkey, pie crusts, pies, turkey, and other food items, which really makes me think of adult women who have born children they must feed. the last straw, for me, was her carefully-placed arrangement of Martha Steward Living and Food and Wine magazines on our coffee table. she has subscriptions to both, and as far as I'm concerned, that's but a half-step away from Better Homes & Gardens and Family Circle and whichever other magazines my mom used to get when I was little. I simply cannot support that. there's something inherently curmudgeonly in my being that objects to all housewife-y things existing in my living space while I'm still young. I can't explain it, and I probably can't adequately defend it, but there you go. it's just part of who I am.

on a related note, Stacey's roommate, who is dating a 30-something man who may or may not be gay, is spending Thanksgiving at her parents' house with her beau and has informed Stacey that she believes the guy will ask her father for her hand in marriage. Stacey and I both concur this is revolting. especially since the guy told the roommate he'd pay off her credit card debt if she let him have anal sex with her. and especially because for some reason that I also can't explain or justify, Stacey and I see marriage before 30 as unneccesary and slightly offensive. I just don't know. it's how I am.

I think it's time to stop now. I'm really not in a bitchy mood, I'm excited and happy, but that's what's come out of my fingers this afternoon. oh well. the next time I write I'll be in Ohio with my family. YIPPEE!!

p.s. yesterday after work I took off my shoes and saw that I'd been walking around all day with little yellow leaves under my socks. just like when I was a kid and would come in from playing outside in the autumn.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com