current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

10:49 a.m. - 23 April 2002
a bloody story

yesterday at work there was a blood drive and people in my department were all going down together to donate and to present a unified front. I was not one of those people, as I have a great fear of needles. but my co-worker Sara was one of them. let me explain Sara a little bit. Sara is about 27 years old, extremely friendly and polite, and rarely says a negative word about anyone (in stark contrast to anyone else I know in the world). she comes in to work around 7:00-7:30am, and leaves well after 6:00pm most evenings. she has trouble sleeping at night. she grew up in France with American parents and has a small French appetite, meaning she doesn't eat huge quantities of food. immediately after Sara donated blood yesterday, she threw up, threw up again, and then began to tremble. she threw up a third time and a doctor who works here called an ambulance. Amy went with Sara and was at the hospital with her for three hours as they pumped two bags of IV fluid into her. the doctor at the hospital instructed her to take two days off of work and to get some rest, as it is clear that Sara is not in the best of health. fifteen minutes ago Sara came into work, explaining that she feels completely better and that it helps to be around people. I kind of feel bad for Sara right now, but I also kind of feel that she is an idiot and slightly scary for showing such workaholism. if a physician told me to take off two days from work, I'd be doing somersaults and not bemoaning the fact that I'd have to sit around all day. strange.

today Elvis Costello's new CD is released and at lunchtime Amy and I are making a trip to Virgin to snap it up. while buying CDs from Virgin Megastore is not advisable in general, I cannot stand to wait until I get home and can go to an independent record store. so please excuse me. and be assured, I will stop mentioning Elvis in every diary entry before long. it's just that he's so...marvellous...and...I was 4 feet away from him...just two days ago...sigh.

2 days till San Diego and 4 days till Coachella! I can't wait!

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com