current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:58 a.m. - 06 May 2002
inappropriate combination of topics, I guess

right now I can't get the eggs I had for breakfast yesterday out of my head and it's making me sick to my stomach. I also just read an article on Slate.com talking about different types of eggs and that's made it even worse. normally, I love eggs. just like that commercial says. but ever since yesterday's breakfast...I think the big mistake was eating them with a hangover. eggs do not typically settle my post-alochol-binge stomach. which I forgot about until I'd ingested two of the things, sunny-side-up. what I should've done was eat my normal hangover remedy, toast and orange juice with Tylenol. now that combination works some fine magic. no matter.



Stacey just emailed me to tell me her grandmother passed away last night. she's been sick with Alzheimer's for a long time, so it wasn't unexpected, but I was still shocked. I called her right away but she was on the phone with her dad, so I'm waiting for her to return my call.

I was IMing online with my uncle Brian last night. he's only 8 years older than I am, so we have a nice, buddy-buddy relationship. he started telling me about my grandfather's own rapidly-declining state of health. not only does he have Alzheimer's, but he's now undergoing chemotherapy for non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma. honestly, I can't believe the man is still living and breathing. Brian said his skin looks waxy and pale, which is so depressing to think about. and now my grandmother, who's been caring for him to a degree of obsessiveness that can only be ascribed to a deep, unconditional love, may have bone cancer. she too has had the lion's share of health problems: gallbladder removal, eye replacement, angioplasty, stroke, hip replacement...my grandparents are models of both modern medicine and old-fashioned tenacity. it's incredible. I get the vapors when a doctor approaches me with a syringe, but these two ancestors of mine have been through it all and still choose to keep plugging away. all after raising seven children too. I wonder if they know how much I admire them. I need to write them again soon.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com