current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

10:11 a.m. - 16 January 2003
it's mah diary's birt-day

hey I just realized this diary is 1 year old today! happy birthday diaryland diary! and a slap on the back to me for actually sticking with something for a full year.

yesterday I found an old notebook that I took with me to Cincinnati after my sophomore year in college when I did an internship at the art museum there. I lived with my grandparents that summer and worked at a country club that was practically next door to their house. in the notebook I would write down weird or funny things the people around me said, and one of those things I wrote down was what my grandmother said to my aunt about her and my grandfather still having...uh, relations. I'd been trying to remember the exact combination of words and now I have it:

Grandma (to my aunt): We're not going to be able to take care of the girls next month because we're going to the cabin for a while. I'm going to need some time to make mad, passionate love to my husband.

Aunt: (laughs nervously)

Grandma: What, you don't think we do that anymore?

end scene.

somehow it packed more of a punch when I first heard it. you know, grandparent sex and all. plus I was eating dinner at the time. but now I guess it's not so horrifying. they do love each other, after all.

I wrote down lots of other things in that notebook too, but I don't have it with me and I'm sure almost everything else requires too much backstory to even be a little funny. so no need to put them down here.

I'm hella tired today because the stupid workers in the still-unopened bar underneath my apartment started blasting shitty bass-heavy music at midnight and I couldn't get to sleep for quite some time afterwards. I really hate them. and I hate my landlords for not returning my calls about the noise. hate.

I feel like I should put down something commemorative about "oh what a year it's been, little diary" and "ahh the events and non-events we've been through...," but I'm having a hard time with recall and if anyone wants to participate in a commemoration, they can just go ahead and read through the past 303 entries on their own. I'm sure it's entertaining in some respect. just a little sparse over that mono month. anyway, yeah, 1 year!

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com