current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

4:15 p.m. - 18 November 2002
sucking up

sleeeeeeeeeepy.

this weekend was very low-key, although Saturday was punctuated by the purchase of a vacuum cleaner. this was an exciting acquisition in my apartment, even though there's only one real carpet/area rug to speak of. we've had it just over a year and a half and it's been vacuumed *maybe* once. people would go to sit on it and either April or I would suck in our breath sharply and say, "oohhhh, you might not want to sit down there...here's a blanket," because we knew how filthy it was. so after bringing home the new (bagless!) vacuum Saturday evening, the carpet received a proper and thorough cleaning. the amount of dirt and fuzz and Jesus-knows-what that came out of it was enough to turn my stomach. but at least we know it's (semi) clean now.

today has involved me running around to and fro and not really accomplishing anything but eating 5-7 peanut butter & chocolate Oreos. PRODUCTIVITY!! I've decided I need to wear blinders on the sides of my head while at work so my sugar impulse isn't tested so often. it's just because I'm bored and it's there. I don't gorge on candy at home. but then I don't have peanut butter & chocolate Oreos just sitting out in the open, all helpless and delicious.

this week is going to be long. I can feel it.

today my dad called me at work. when I answered I got a little scared because he sounded upset and I thought maybe something happened to my grandpa. but no. he called to tell me that he's getting the family a 5-disc DVD player for Christmas (I don't know what's taken him so long) and that I should thus take that into consideration while shopping for gifts but not breathe a word to my mom or sisters. I like being in on the info.

then my dad went on to explain that while he and my mom were out of town this weekend, my 16-year-old sister snuck out to another town to see 8 Mile with a friend who my parents don't particularly like. when they finally caught her and got her to stop lying, she told them she was really depressed about the possibility of not getting in to art school and was also bulimic. the latter is both staggering and puzzling to me, as she can't weigh more than 110 pounds and has always been healthy and slender. my dad thinks she's only actually thrown up once or twice, but I think if a teenager is telling her parents she's bulimic, there's probably more to it. I don't really know what to think, but I hope she pulls together. my dad asked me to try to talk to her, but coming out with "hey, heard you've got an eating disorder!" doesn't seem prudent. I just don't know. she's always been an intense girl, but this is really out of character for her. even so, at least she let it out to my parents. I will need to keep track.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com