current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:22 p.m. - 22 August 2002
guess who's coming to greet me?

today started out just like yesterday, with me being in a foul mood and working with a permanent scowl smeared across my puss. I'm still a little upset about the whole rigamarole with Jim from last weekend. although I'd rather move on and live with my assessment of the situation, it's pervading my thoughts. add to that my dreams of work people again last night and I was just very crotchety in general. I simply hate it when coworkers, especially ones I dislike, are in my dreams.

but then, a few hours after lunch I got a message from the security desk saying I had two visitors at the front desk. I was a little confused and called back to learn that they were on their way up. so I went out to the elevators and there were Sam and Andy, my two best-buddy coworkers from when I first started there, come to surprise me. I've actually seen Sam a few times in the past year since he's still in Chicago, but Andy's in the Pacific Northwest at med school, so I was particularly elated to see him. we hung out for a while and then it got to be after 4pm and Sam had to leave. so I left with them, said goodbye to Sam, and Andy asked if I wanted to help him find a pair of shoes. since this was the sort of thing we often used to do when we worked with each other, I said "of course," and we spent a little time together. just like old times

it turns out Andy's just driving through Chicago on his way back to school with his girlfriend, who is moving to be in the same city with him. Andy's one of those rare people with whom there are never awkward pauses in the conversation; we always got along extraordinarily well. so I miss him tons and I just can't express how nice it was to see him again. he invited me to go out with him and his friends tomorrow night, so I look forward to that, and he also extended an invitation for me to come visit him anytime in the near future. I put that invitation in my pocket for now. actually, he wanted me to go to a big concert dealie in Washington state with him at the end of the month, but I'll be at home at the time, so that's out.

I love having friends all over the country (sometimes), but why is it so doggoned expensive to fly to visit them?

other than that, nothing else to report. I found out that my now tonsil-less little sister was screaming and crying and told my mother she hated her while they were trying to insert the IV for her surgery, so turns out she might not be as brave as I thought. but I don't blame her one bit; in fact I congratulate her on her raw display of emotion.

I need to find more interesting things to talk about in here.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com