current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:39 p.m. - 13 August 2002
workin' for the Man?

this morning on the radio I heard an advertisement soliciting applicants for the foreign service. it really freaked me out, like Big Brother was placing a public announcement for recruits, but then I thought about it for a while and concluded the following: je parle fran�ais, I want to live in a foreign country, and I hate paying rent and utilities. a job in the foreign service complements each of these items. so I went online and applied just to see where it gets me. I have to take an exam first to get past the first round of applicants and it will involve me studying subjects about which I am shamefully uniformed, subjects like the Constitution, and how our government operates. but anyway. working for the gov could be a little weird and require a little too much cheerleading and fervent patriotism, but it never hurts to try and I can always say no. so we'll see. my dad was pretty excited when I told him I was thinking about it. which made me laugh.

Stacey's coming to visit in two days and I can't wait. I think it might be a weekend filled with a hell of a lot of debauchery. and I've needed a weekend like that for a while. so that will be good.

also, I've been really bothered by April lately. this is bitchy and childish, but she's been acting incredibly self-absorbed and I'm having a hard time dealing with it. she'll come in the door from work or call me someplace and just start talking nonstop about herself. then she rarely asks me questions about what I've been up to or how work was, blah blabbityblah and whenever I do tell her something, she acts really dismissive and uninterested. also, the blowing of her own horn is out-of-control. I know that's a laughable thing to write in an online journal, but this is my journal and it's supposed to be about me, so nyah. anyway, that's been a bit of a bear for me lately.

lately I feel like I have nothing to say in here and it's annoying me. but whatever. I'll try to get more interesting sometime soon.


um, just to throw this out there, here are the sujects of my dreams for the past few nights: Scooby Doo playing dead; the late Kevyn Aucoin doing my makeup, including putting liner between my teeth (it hurt); cutting my knee shaving and then watching it heal quickly and showing it to everyone; swimming in a pool. the swimming dreams are the best.

also, I'm reading Capote's "In Cold Blood" and it's scaring me.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com