current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:50 p.m. - 20 November 2002
who has the power?

talking to my sister Adrienne on the phone is always a downer. either she has some conflict she can't get over and won't take advice on, or she's got some depressing news about something for me. it's unfortunate because it makes me not want to speak to her very often. during this phone call she informed me that my 16-year-old sister had actually crossed state lines (all the way to Virginia!) with her friend last weekend without parental permission. before, I had thought she only went a few towns over. I believe a gentle verbal ass-whupping from me is in line for the little darling come Thanksgiving. I plan to both condemn and console. because I'm the oldest sister, and I can.

my belly is really full right now. for lunch I ate a delicious tuna salad sandwich, a carrot, and a big golden delicious apple, all brought from home. then, since I have the most powerful and dictatorial sweet tooth in the nation, I scarfed down a few little pieces of chocolate, and now I'm sitting here feeling swollen. yet I still could eat a few more handfuls of chocolate. frightening, in a way.

sometimes I envision my sweet tooth as a mustachioed, evil, fat man, holding his gigantic belly with duress as he guffaws at my vulnerability. and my belly is a small weakling with a look of pained pleading on its face, waving its hands up at my esophagus as if to say, "no more! PLEASE!!!" my brain is indifferent in this equation and defaults to the tooth's commands. what a horribly lazy brain.


p.s. anyone in the greater Chicago area should make an effort to see the Gillian Wearing show currently running at the Museum of Contemporary Art. it really is good, for what it is; disregard the philosophical notions of art vs. exploitation while viewing the works.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com