current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

7:15 p.m. - 27 August 2002
food, spill, hobo, dreams, and a prince

it's incredible what I can create with one and a half small, ripe tomatoes, some garlic, some salt, a little red chili pepper, and some pasta. I made myself a damned fine dinner this evening, if I do say so myself. nevermind that in a rare instance of klutziness I managed to spill both half a glass of red wine and a goblet of Diet Coke (I like to have beverage options).

and now "The Graduate" is on! and American Idol later! Tuesday night, you have shaped up beautifully.


recently I learned that Amy's grandfather was a bona fide hobo at one point in his life. this is one of the most spectacular facts I've heard in quite some time. my first question was, "Did he travel with a scarf tied to the end of a stick?" the answer: yes. "Did he ride the rails?" yes, he rode the rails. I almost ventured to ask if he actually blacked in a 5 o'clock shadow with greasepaint applied with a porous sponge, but my high hopes prevented me from a possible letdown on that inquiry.

but still! a hobo! a veritable hobo! April and I have had a tiny obsession with that word for years when we simultaneously concluded that it just doesn't get thrown around as much as it should these days.


Amy and I also discussed our dream lives today. that is, of what our dreams consist and how they play out. while I have dreams in color (and sometimes in French), Amy always dreams in black and white. Amy has never felt physical pain while dreaming, but I have. I rarely emote verbally during or after waking up from a dream, but Amy has a tendancy to wake up crying from certain forms of dreams. I found this all quite fascinating.


speaking of French, I started reading the French version of The Little Prince in bed last night. I'd forgotten how lovely that story is. I suspect this is because the first time I read it, in high school French class, I was more occupied with the words I did not know than the story itself. but this time around, it's flowing easily for me and I'm mildly enchanted with Saint-Exupery. everyone should read that story. no excuses!

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com