current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

7:12 p.m. - 20 April 2002
good sleep, concert review, and other items

I had the best sleep in a while last night. it was so great, I was super-comfortable, nice and warm, and I could've slept all day if I didn't have strong convictions about the whole antisocial and semi-depressing nature of doing something like that.

last night I went to the Super Furry Animals concert and they were incredible. I had no idea they were so good, and I wish I'd been more familiar with their older albums so I could've enjoyed it even more. this rapper, Cex, opened for them and he was hilarious. he reminded me a lot of MC Paul Barman, who I luv. after the show, I wanted to ask Cex if he knew of him, but I couldn't find him. plus it was approximately 95 degrees in the venue, so I was soaked in sweat, and I had the worst backache from being so crammed in and awkwardly positioned throughout the show, so getting into the cold night air was much more appealing. the crowd at the show last night was a strange mixture. it was mostly young people, but then there were a few groups of middle-aged men hanging about, which really confused me. they just seemed contrary to the vibe of the band. in addition, the crowd was peppered with the odd gay man sky high on ecstacy. one of them was standing near us and clapped loudly in time with every single song. then at one point, he picked up Megan's beer and began to put it to his lips but then she caught him and snatched it back. weird. another ecstacy guy was right in the middle of the front, and from time to time he'd take off his purple t-shirt, position it above his head like a sail between his arms, and wave it back and forth in time to the music. during the last song he began holler-singing the melody with his hands cupped on either side of his mouth so loud that the singer started laughing. it was bizarre.

tonight Jim and I are going to do something. not sure what yet, but I have a feeling the end of the night will involve me, Jim, and some tryst-like activity. I could be wrong. but we'll see.

today I saw the video for one of Phantom Planet's songs. that's the band with Jason Schwartzman (the kid from Rushmore) on drums. what a sham. that band is a complete result of "I have lots of money...let's start a band and be cool!" the video was total crap too, all "look at me, I play drums" and "my aren't we skinny and dressed like poor teenagers circa 1983!" blech.

there are two men dressed in dashikis walking across the street from my apartment.

tomorrow is Elvis day. I am horribly excited, and I've got about 8 people coming over to my place prior to his performance at Tower Records. we're planning to make bloody marys because lord knows I'll be so nervous when I meet him, I'll need some liquid courage. I'm tempted to take my neon green Elvis poster off my bedroom wall and to bring it to the meet-and-greet to see if he'll sign it, but perhaps that's borderline kooky. we'll see how the bloody marys alter that decision when the time comes. aaaaaaahhh I can't wait! tomorrow is going to be the best.

stay tuned.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com