current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:19 a.m. - 10 September 2002
piano dreams, mouth crack, watches

last night in bed I was listening to a classical music radio station when they started playing Chopin's preludes and I was completely distracted from my reading. I love Chopin's preludes and really love Chopin in general, because his music is sublime and he's one of the composers whose music I'm most able to play on piano. I took piano lessons from elementary school through high school and was just beginning to tackle many of the preludes when I went off to college. since then, I've had less and less access to a piano. every so often, I'll get a strong desire to find one so I can see if my fingers are still nimble enough. every time I go home to visit my parents, I spend a few hours working out my favorites and am sometimes mildly horrified at how difficult it can be to refresh my ability. I hope I never lose the ability to play at the level where I was when I stopped lessons. I also can't wait for the day when I can play every day if I want to! (this will have to wait till I grow up, and can afford the instrument.) anyway, listening to Chopin last night made me anxious to play again. so any piano donations would be appreciated.

sometime over the weekend, probably while I was laying in bed recovering from beer overload Saturday night, I developed a small crack in the joint of my mouth. you know the type: it's right at the corner, about 2 milimeters long, hurts more than necessary, and refuses to heal, no matter how much you try to tongue it into complacency. I hate my mouth crack! it's cramping my eating, laughing, and yawning style and it needs to shoo. SHOO!

also over the weekend my watch stopped working. this has put me in a state of bewilderment because I always wear it and don't really have a suitable replacement. I've got this garish orange timepiece that cost me a dollar and then a fake bright blue Baby G that Jim got me on his trip to New York. neither of these choices really jibe with my work wardrobe, so I'm just wearing my dead watch of choice until it makes me crazy enough to go get the battery replaced. it also needs a new strap, seeing that the leather is starting to come unglued at certain key points, like where the stem for the buckle is held fast. currently it floats freely until I cement it into my wrist, fasten the buckle, and slip the strap under the loop that holds it in place.

God my life is so hard.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com