current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:03 p.m. - 01 June 2002
longest one yet

woo woo yesterday was madness compressed into one long day.

early that morning, April and I got a nice, big, semi-new TV and VCR that we bought from our old friend John, who is moving to Paris (grrr) for a study abroad. that caused a lot of excitement, as it's a huge improvement on the very tiny 12" we've been using for two years. I can actually see things on the screen now!

work started out horribly when I found out that my bonus at work was much, much less than I had hoped. to make it worse, Amy's bonus was half of what mine was. and her position is at a higher level than mine. so I was very angry and insulted for the first few hours of the day.

then Adrienne called me at work right before noon to tell me she told my parents about everything that's going on with her and I felt like a ton of brikes was lifted off of my shoulders.

after that, Amy and Sara and I went to lunch at Blackies, where I enjoyed a big, fat cheeseburger. it was a long time coming; for some reason I'd been craving red meat like a madman for the past few weeks.

my dad called me after I got back from lunch to discuss what he'd found out about Adrienne a few hours before and I tried to answer his questions using the most discreet, coded phrases possible. it's difficult discussing such a delicate situation in a cubicle environment, after all. he and my mom took the news surprisingly well: they were calm when the spoke to her and offered to drive down to where she's living. my dad and I then agreed to call each other later in the night when I could speak more freely to both him and my mom.

meanwhile, I was fielding calls to my home regarding a pair of air conditioners I had put up for sale in the classifieds.

towards the end of the workday, Amy and I got really giddy when I learned that her brother had purchased a Furby at the age of 22 and subsequently mistreated it to the point where it could only sputter out nonsensical phrases and loud snores. as Amy described the relationship between her brother and his Furby I had tears streaming down my face. I then proposed that we create a storytelling circle with her, me, and a few of our friends who also have good tales to share. I asked her what the membership badge should look like and Amy mentioned that knitting circles have crossed knitting needles as their symbol. so I proposed a series of options, finally coming up with a knife crossed with a human tongue. Amy jumped on that one and I then pronounced that the group be called the Knife and Tongue Society. so that is absolutely a work in progress. at present, we are developing a secret handshake.

after work I waited around for a few people who had expressed interest in looking at my air conditioners. I also set up appointments for people to come see them later in the night and this morning.

then Adrienne called and she and I made sure that there wasn't anything I didn't need to mention to my parents. after that, my mom called and we had a long conversation about Adrienne's developments involving some tears. I love my parents so much for reacting the way they did. I really feared that they'd explode, start yelling, but instead they listened carefully, accepted the admisison, and expressed deep concern. my mom is pretty numb, and my dad is very sad, but they're both dealing with it in really good ways.

while I was talking to my mom on the phone, Jim called to see if I wanted to hang out. then John called to see if where he was going to be living in Paris was a good area. then, a girl came over to see the air conditioners and I had to offer to call my mom back after that transaction. she bought both units (hurrah!) and when I carried one of them downstairs, I strained pretty much every muscle extant in my body. I am feeling the stupidity of trying to be a big, bad musclewoman today.

after accepting the $200 check from the buyer, I called John quickly to tell him to have a safe trip and that yes, he will be in a cool area of the city. then I called Jim and told him to come over in an hour. then I called back my parents and talked to them for another 45 minutes, feeling very happy and reassured after the conversation ended. just when I was about to sit down to dinner at 9:45, Adrienne called again and I relayed to her my conversation with my parents. while I was on the phone with her, Jim came over, so I finished up talking to her and then went in the living room to greet Jim properly.

he brought over a jug of readymade margaritas, which I enjoyed immensely after I shoved my dinner down my throat. after an hour or so, we hopped over to a bar and had some good conversation and a few beers. when we left the bar, Jim asked if I wanted to come over to his place. I said I did and so we went, started watching Mullholland Drive on DVD and ended up fooling around a lot, once again. so that was a nice cap to the fury of yesterday.


today April and I walked around the Printer's Row book fair in the hot sunshine and then ate a really fantastic dinner at the Bourgeois Pig. in a few minutes, we're going to see Y Tu Mama Tambien and then it'll almost be Sunday.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com