current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

2:18 p.m. - 08 May 2002
working, listening, thinking

I'm doing this annoying thing lately where I think about something during the day, mentally note that I should write that out on this little page, and then proceed to forget about what it was I wanted to write. it's not at all frustrating or alarming.

today at work I have been busily working on my particular portion of the company website. whenever I do this, I turn into a fiend. it usually entails a lot of sequential additions or changes, and I work like a mad person, trying to finish it off as fast as possible, as if my life depends on it. it's weird. I don't know why I always feel this "hurry-up" impulse for that particular task. but I do.

right now I'm listening to The Velvet Underground & Nico, which I bought last week and which is my first-ever Velvet Underground album. I don't know why it's taken me so long to get around to buying one, but this one is good. I particularly enjoy Venus In Furs and All Tomorrow's Parties and I'll Be Your Mirror. probably just like everyone else. a while ago I saw a program on Nico on IFC or Sundance (can't remember), where I learned she got her own son addicted to heroin. what a horrible, strange mixture of motherly love and engulfing addiction that is.

to continue the thread of grandparent illness that seems to be running through my friends' lives and my life, April's grandfather suffered a heart attack yesterday. fortunately, he was in the hospital at the time. they've moved him to a bigger hospital now and he was scheduled to undergo surgery today. it's strange that my friends and I are now at the age where grandparents tend to expire. I don't even want to think about when will be the age that our parents start falling away.

last night I watched the Real World on MTV. I'm pitifully attracted to this show because I always have been, and more specifically because this season takes place in my city of residence. however, last night's episode, which was filmed on and around September 11 of last year, was the most trite and embarassing show of overflowing emotion combined with self-importance that I've ever seen. I don't really want to take the time to explain it, but if you saw it, you know what I'm talking about (candles, singing, flag-waving...). it was difficult to watch.

damn, must do something now.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com