current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:02 p.m. - 05 August 2003
right, so my weekend...

my weekend was good, especially since I had the apartment to myself for a change. April's out of town in New York City and I am really enjoying that since she almost never goes out of town (except for Christmas, when I'm gone too).

Friday night I went out for drinks with with Jim and it was actually cool--we just talked a lot and I made him go to the Ginger Man with me because I love that bar and their jukebox is the best one I've found in Chicago (the other best one used to belong to Red, which used to be on Damen/Roscoe but which was converted into a lame-ass pseudo brewery pub thing a year or so ago). I had three beers and was drunk. which was weird.

then Saturday I sat around all day. I watched "The Real Cancun" on pay per view and it was pretty sleazy. then I went to see Supergrass in concert. that started at 7:00 so I figured there was no point in leaving the house before that. except to get Diet Coke. I went across the street for that. I met up with Megan, her rooommate Megan (or Red Megan, as i call her--she has red hair), her other roommate and that girl's boyfriend, who plays bass in a pretty well-known Chicago band. I had a beer before the show as a cost-saving measure, but it only ended up biting me in the ass because by 10, just after the show was over, I was wasted. we went to the Ginger Man after the show since it was right next door and because I knew the band would go there (they were in there Friday night when I was there with Jim but I just stared at them instead of talking). also, as I had stated before, I am in love with their sexy-ass drummer. ohhh man he is so hot. he alone is worth seeing them. plus he's a really good drum player. and again: hot. but sadly, married with kids.

anyway, Megan and Red Megan and I decided to stay out after their other roommate and bf went home. so we moved to sit at the bar and then Supergrass came in and I salivated. I talked to the drummer for a very little bit but the band wasn't really socializing and I was too drunk to be sociable by this point anyway, so it was ok. I was like almost seeing cross-eyed before midnight and I realized it was because I'd only eaten one meal all day and it was all vegetables. so Meg and RMeg and I went across the street to a hot dog place and I ate a veggie burger and half of RMeg's hot dog (which she'd torn down the middle lengthwise--kind of gross but not enough of a deterrant for me!). at the end of the meal I noticed RMeg had mustard in her fingernail, which was definitely gross. after pointing that out, Megan and I called her "mustard finger" for the rest of the night. and we sure did get a good laugh out of that one.

anyway, we went back to Ginger Man and the band had left and around 2 or so we decided to go to Carol's. for some reason that place was dead, which was a bummer, but that didn't stop us from staying till 5am. when the bar did close at 5, I caught a cab home. the driver was just chatty chatty chatty and I was so drunk and tired but kept talking with him because he kept asking questions. then we got to my apartment and I don't know why it happened, but I sat in that cab for another 20-30 minutes talking to this guy because I didn't want to be rude. why was this a concern of mine? why??? so THEN he asked me if I had a phone number and inside I said, "awwwsheeit." but out loud I said, "um....sure," and gave him my standard fake number and he told me that Mondays and Tuesdays were good for him. and then he didn't charge me for the cab ride, even after I tried to force money on him. sweet.

so I got into bed around 6am Sunday morning and got up around noon with a horrific hangover that took me many hours to overcome. on the way to overcoming it I watched both "Kung-Pow: Enter the Fist" and "A Lion in Winter," which are pretty much polar opposites of each other as far as the spectrum of cinema goes. during the more distinguished film (ie, the one without a mono-boobed lady) I ordered some sushi for lunch/dinner.

after the movie finished I showered for the Grandaddy concert, which started at 7:30. Megan and Stephen attended with me and it was a good time, but it was so loud and we were standing next to the speakers. consequently, my right ear is still effed up, two days later! it was at the House of Blues, which is by far the loudest place I've ever been to, and that's saying a lot. I've stood next to speakers at shows so many times with no residual effects the day after. so does this mean I can sue? someone let me know. stupid house of blues.

anyway, after the show Stephen and Megan and I went to the Melrose Diner and we had some nice conversation until about midnight. I hate Sunday nights and I always stay up way too late because I'm in denial about having to work the next day. and because of this and because I had three beers and then a lot of cigs and a lot of caffeine and some free sample Midol because I had a headache and it was all I had with me, I was a little nauseous and sleepy all day yesterday. and the sleepiness has lasted into today. but oh well.

last night was relaxing and full of televisual nourishment. I had planned to sit on the couch and pretend my weekend wasn't over, which is pretty much what happened. except I didn't smoke any cigarettes, which was done as a purifying effort and because I'd had very bad cigarette hangover Sunday morning. but I did drink two beers because they were there and because I was celebrating still having the apartment to myself.

tonight will involve small grocery shopping, maybe some laundry, and most certainly the couch. I heart the couch. and so does my flabby belly :o)

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com