current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

3:52 p.m. - 17 October 2002
I have the best ideas for Halloween

so Halloween is coming up and once again I've pissed around to the point that there's no need to even think about doing a costume or making an effort. plus, I'm going to a concert next Saturday anyway and that'll be the big costume night from what I can tell. and here's the other thing--whenever I actually dress up for Halloween (which hasn't been since college, 3 years ago) I like to pick a costume that's a little different from what you'd normally find on the streets. like one year I was a dead, evil elf. and another year I dressed up as an old lady with Stacey, which isn't particularly unusual, but we were wearing old bridesmaid dresses with lace necklines, shawls, granny glasses, we powdered our hair, and carried canes and we looked amazing.

anyway, every Halloween I've lived in Chicago (this'll be the third), April and I talk about dressing up for Halloween, but we butt heads. I like to have a partner for costumes. it makes me feel like part of a dressed-up team, and if anyone challenges our costumes, I've got a homie to back me up. the problem arises when April shoots down my (obviously) brilliant ideas in favor of more genteel ones. for example, she's wanted to be a geisha girl for the past three Halloweens, which is a SNOOZER! a geisha girl with a hari-kari knife in her gut and blood all over...that would be more exciting. but I guess it could be seen as vaguely racist.

this year April suggested we go as cabaret girls. I said, "eh, that's so boring...why don't we go as OLD cabaret dancers!! we can wear baggy tights and get oversized neglig�es and stuff them with pillows and have cigarettes dangling out of our mouths and draw age lines on our faces..." and April all but peed on that idea. how can you deny the power of that costume? it would be so great! I got a little miffed and asked April if she turned it down because it wasn't sexy enough and she nodded. I spit on sexy Halloween costumes. that's for babies. babies who need to feel beautiful all the time. but dress as an old cabaret lady and I think that's where you'd get the most quality inquiries. I love a costume that needs explanation.

so yeah, don't look for me on Halloween weekend or night. I'm out of cash for a while and my partner is uncooperative. but someday I'm bustin' out that costume. just you wait.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com