current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

10:33 a.m. - 27 June 2002
see sigh

last night when I was walking home from the train after a fun dinner with an old coworker I saw a lightning bug slowly blinking in the air. nothing makes me happier in the summer than seeing the first lightning bug at night because it immediately transports me back to when I used to catch them and put them in jars when I was young. (I also used to smear the lighted up part of their bodies on my hands and watch it glow, but we'll ignore that for now.) whenever I go back to my parents' house in the summer, it's like a field of lightning bugs at night, but here in the city I seldom see them unless I'm by the lake or on a particularly dark street. lightning bugs are just magnificent.


my dinner last night has put me in the best mood for no particular reason. there was something about meeting up with an old friend who is still within arm's reach, something about making a happy reconnection that just really brightened my yesterday. it's weird how a synergy of small events or inconsequential circumstances can completely change one's state of mind. I hope it'll last.


next Tuesday is what I hope will be a fun picnic at the home of a bigwig at work. unfortunately, the people I really want to be there will not be attending, but I think I might bring April along for the fun. it'll be at a big house with a big field and I have a good feeling there will be lightning bugs and wide open spaces to do carwheels in and tire swings and everything that makes warm summer nights marvellous.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com