current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

8:26 p.m. - 15 October 2003
starting the gears...

today my temporary employer, the elected official, asked me if he could borrow 20 cents. sure, mister double income attorney, you can have 20 cents from me! I know how you double earners can get hard-up from time to time. fortunately for you I carry lots of change since I use public transportation every day. don't spend it all in one place, now, you kid you.

I finished a rough draft of my personal statement for grad school applications last night, which is a definite step in the right direction for this little miss. some fine tuning, and some outside opinions, and the hard part is over. oh, except for the whole GRE thing. that will be occurring in November, I do believe.

in other news, I have a nice chunk of change sitting in 401K limbo right now and I'm slightly torn as to what to do. if I take the payout, which is an option since it's under a certain amount, there's a 20% tax levy right up front and then I'll have to pay 10% of the total when I file my returns in April. that's a sizeable gash out of my chunk. my other option is to roll it into an IRA and then it's hands off for three years or whatever the normal term is. on one hand, I could really use the chunk right now. but on the other, there's a possibility I could use it even more as a grad student. I'll probably go with whatever my dad suggests in the long run.

why do all of my entries go back to the sordid topic of money all the time? oh right, because I gots none.

I wish I was in Chicago so I could experience all this baseball hullabaloo right now. it seems so exciting! and I also feel really bad for that unfortunate fellow who tried to catch that unwieldy ball last night. I can't believe they published his name and workplace, but oh well, what are you gonna do?

ok time to stop.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com