current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:13 p.m. - 16 December 2002
party wrap-up and bits of today

ahhh I am currently slightly drunk. this is by dint of the bottle of chardonnay that broken record brought to my party last night as a gift. I won't give you the time of the day, love-wise, but I sure will gladly suck down your wine when you're not around! me nice.

so the party last night went well. it got off to a rocky start when 6 of April's guests arrived a half hour early, right when we discovered that the bean fritters were frying up as oil and bean mush and that the mojito recipe we had made a disgusting drink. to make matters worse, all of the early birds were very drunk and proceeded to down a bunch of food and rum and then leave our apartment a half hour later. but then once we got all the food on the table and once the rest of the guests arrived, things picked up quite a bit. I have to say that yesterday marked the first time I'd skewered and then baked 15 pounds of chicken in one day. yes, that's right--15 pounds of chicken on skewers. and by the end of the night, all but one skewer had been eaten. disgusting yet heartening. also delicious were the tostones with cilantro and garlic sauce and the orange-y, rum-y, ginger ale-y punch we served. however, I plan to never again attempt to provide a full meal for 30-40+ people in a little apartment kitchen ever. I am simply not adequately equipped. that, and the mounds of chicken skewers were enough to turn a glutton's (my) stomach.

I ended up spending most of the party avoiding broken record (who put his arm around me at one point) and chatting with S&A and Jim. at one point, Jim and I were trying to toss cashews into each others' mouth for a good half hour. I swept up the rejected cashews after work today. and then later on, Jim, in the tradition of all great sitcoms and mild comedies, turned on the full blender without first securing the lid. this resulted in a full-blown geyser of sticky alcohol all over Jim and the kitchen.

people started to trickle out of our apartment around 11pm, which was good. the party started around 5:30, and by 7:00 it already felt like midnight to me. when broken record left, his parting words were, "we should get together sometime!" I cringed internally and squeaked, "yeah!," eyebrows raised in mock latent interest. uurrrgh.

I broke out the fart machine soon after that. of course it was a smash. at April's urging I performed the fart walk, wherein I press the fart machine's remote control with each step I take, thus resulting in one fart sound per step. the only thing is the machine responds kind of slowly to the remote, so the walk has to be a slow, deliberate one. kind of like a bridal march. so essentially I'm doing a bridal march fart walk. it's still pretty effective.

for the last hour, it was nobody but S&A, me, Jim, April, and another one of her coworkers. then S&A left and then April's coworker left and then April went to bed and Jim and I ended up chair dancing to the Christmas carols that someone had tuned into on the stereo. I was in my wheeled computer chair and Jim was in a standard chair, so I got to do all the fun parts like being spun and whipped around the floor. and then, after too many whiny "I don't want to work tomorrow"s, I told Jim I was going to bed and he left. I was in my pajamas and in bed by 12:30, so it was a reasonable night all around.

today was possibly one of the busiest work days I've had in months. between interviewing potential student interns and handling requests from my newly-out boss and the chair of the council for which I work, my face was red with concentration all day long. and then I came home and cleaned and cleaned and cleaned for two hours.

Jen called me tonight; I haven't spoken to her since mid November, which is really bad. but we caught up nicely and I notified her that her Hannukah/birthday gift would be getting to her after the New Year. I feel bad doing that, especially since I'll see her once I go home, but I just need to not buy it now and it'll be worth the wait; I'm buying her a full-body massage/spa treatment at an Aveda Institute. I figure she should have no problem excusing its lateness.

that's about it for now. Animal House is on TV. I'm still a little drunk. I'm sure there's a lot of redundancy and senselessness in this entry, but I haven't the determination to read through it or make the necessary adjustments. so that's all for now.

p.s. I found out from my sister my parents got drunk with my pastor and his wife and other fellow congregation members this past weekend at their own holiday party. I don't know whether to laugh or shudder at that information.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com