current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

1:16 p.m. - 03 February 2003
requiem for an automobile

there's a dense, low, white fog hanging over Chicago today and it's so thick that I can't even see the Hancock building from my office. the Hancock sits about a quarter mile from where I sit and I always marvel when it's obscured by weather conditions. it's like the great structure has magically disappeared and I'm working in a building surrounded by a cloudy cocoon.


I found out from my 13-year-old sister last night that my dad had been in a car accident in which his car was totaled. shocked, I asked her when this happened and if my dad was ok. Jillian replied that it happened Thursday or Friday and my dad was unharmed; the accident wasn't his fault. but the car is completely wrecked--won't start, trunk is jammed, the whole shebang. I was really upset to learn about this for a few reasons. 1) no one told me it happened until Jillian decided to inform me over AOL IM; 2) accidents are horrible; 3) I sincerely loved my dad's car.

I learned to drive in that car, a 1985 navy blue BMW 325e manual shift with a beige interior that my dad bought second-hand when I was in 7th grade. after I got my license, my friends and I spent hours in that car shuttling to and fro diving team practice, marching band practice, nights out on the town, movies, summer trips to the pool, and the occasional road trip. I would sneak cigarettes while driving the car with all the windows down and the sun roof open. I had my own accident (not my fault) in that car, an accident that involved my having to pick up the entire front bumper from the street where I'd been struck during a busy season in my home town. I felt like that car was a part of my identity in high school and grew to love driving it wherever I could. I'd see how fast I could safely take turns, try to get the highest mileage per gallon possible, fiddle with the cigarette lighter, perfect the balance, fade, and bass levels of the radio/cassette player, and run my finger across the liquid crystal display that showed the time, temporarily smearing the numbers into a bright orange glow. when I'd come home after graduating college, driving that car around town was one of the things I looked forward to. the car was promised to me at some point in the future, whenever my dad decided to finally purchase a third automobile for my family, but now that won't happen because the car will be gone. I feel like I need to give it a hug goodbye, or throw roses on it once it gets to the dump. last night when I told Kelly over the phone that the BMW was wrecked, she was genuinely upset to hear the news too. sad.


final note for today: I just about died laughing during the Simpsons when Bart drew a pencil moustache underneath his nose and then donned a black wig to play the part of Apu in attempt to help Marge overcome her new agoraphobia. I don't know why that was so funny to me, but I really enjoyed it. also hilarious was the part towards the end when a roid-raging Marge was holding Lenny aloft her head and breathing like a charging bull while Homer tried to calm her.

I love that show.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com