current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:56 a.m. - 21 January 2003
crazy letters, Bob Dylan, and American Idol

I hate it when none of the diaries on my buddy list have updated when I check the list first thing in the morning. :(

I woke up today with a dull headache that's been making me slightly dizzy. I'm sure it's a good thing. I think it has something to do with these hell teeth that will be coming out in just over a month. I hate those teeth.

yesterday at work I spent a good hour or two going through the piles of correspondence that have built up on my desk since December. this always results in my reading several nonsensical diatribes from possible schizophrenics and then photocopying a select few and taking them home for my personal secret file of letters from the mentally unsound. I'm always incredulous at how many crazy people are out there and at how many of them seem to reside in either Florida or California. I'm not trying to be funny or anything, it's the truth. when I first started doing this task at my job, there was something funny about the letters, but now I just find it depressing that these people, who clearly should not be out in the world on their own, actually live lives in their skewed worlds. it can't be pleasant. maybe next time I find a particularly good example of this in a letter, I'll post it here. letter reading is a rather interesting portion of my job.

I've been listening to a lot of Bob Dylan lately, mostly because I went though a Bob Dylan buying spree when I lived in Connecticut about three years ago and never really gave each album a proper listening. also, I tend to hear the music before the lyrics whenever I listen to something for the first or second time and I've been really wanting to study Dylan's lyrics so I could come to my own conclusions. and my conclusions are: yes, he is great. everyone's known that forever anyway. but I like how listening to his albums feels to me like I'm listening to sung poetry moreso than other songwriters. that might seem a rather banal statement, but it's honestly how I feel. I guess technically all music with words could be classified as a type of sung poetry, but there's something about Bob Dylan's lyrics that resides in a more elevated plane than a lot of other songwriters' work to me. ok I'm not going to write about this any longer. it's not like I'm the first to pass judgement on the man's work.

let's switch topics abruptly and hilariously to American Idol 2, which I am dying to see tonight. (you see, I can appreciate the sublime and the crap without a trace of insincerity.) I saw a few highlights on the Today Show this morning and I just can't wait for it to be 7:00pm, if anything than to see again the kid who performed an odd step-type chant for his audition. ahhhhhh!! the lack of humility!! the lack of shame!! the lack of talent!! GIVE IT TO ME NOW!!!!

to close, I'm eating sushi for dinner tonight. yeah!

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com