current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

10:38 a.m. - 29 March 2002
beautiful rain and busy agenda

it's really nice and rainy outside today. there are days when I just love the rain, days like this when it's not too cold, but not quite warm, the rain is slow and moderate, not blowing in your face or drizzling, and the pavement is nice and slick. this is the kind of rain I'd go out in when I was little. I'd put on my raincoat, grab my see-through Sesame Street umbrella, and just walk around the sidewalk and driveway, stepping in the puddles, and looking at the worms emerging onto the sidewalk.


today a woman who I do not work with passed by my desk, asked me if I knew when my boss would be back, turned to walk away, then stopped, leaned into my face, stared, and said, "do you wear sunscreen?" I was a little taken aback, but before I could answer, she went on to explain that she survived two melanoma on her legs and that she now wears SPF 30 clothing. I explained I hardly ever go out in the sun, and she insisted that made no difference, it is always essential to wear sunscreen. I acted interested and somehow kept a straight face. as she was walking away, she said she makes a point to say something to everyone she sees with freckles, light eyes, fair skin, and light hair. point taken, madame.

last night I had a really nice time with a young gentleman. we went to dinner and a concert and I really enjoyed myself. today and tonight I'm going to be running around like crazy. I have to get to Tower by 5 to meet up with Kyle and Megan, then over to Schubas by 7:30 to see Kevin Tihista and cash in on my being on the guest list (yes!). fortunately I get out of work at 3:30 thanks to our friend Easter, so it should all be ok. but there is always the danger that I will konk out in an unpreventable, spontaneous, deep sleep, as I've been out late a few too many times this week. oh, being young.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com