current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

3:19 a.m. - 03 March 2002
starfuckers

so I just got back from the Elbow/South concert and I'm trying to type quietly so April won't come out and nose around. she ended up coming and things ended up just the way I thought they would--Megan, April and Megan's friend Mary spent the whole time scheming on how to meet the bands. the shows themselves were excellent, and I was really happy I decided to go. but after the show ended, Megan and April chased around various bandmembers until they landed upon Guy, the lead singer for Elbow, and it was so embarassing--the 5 of us (Megan's roommate Leah also came) looking like hangers-on, vying to get into the wristband-only downstairs bar (personally, I would've been happy to have just gone home at that point). they gained us entry to the downstairs eventually and then I watched Megan chat up Guy and April toss her blonde hair around whoever would watch. I dunno, I like meeting the band and talking to them about music, their tour, etc., but the way Megan and April and Mary impose themselves on the guys, I can't help feeling like a cheap whore, being their companions and all. it was just hard to be a part of. I sort of wished I'd just left without them all at one point. Megan turns into the hugest, most unapolagetic starfucker whenever she corners a bandmember. she won't acknowledge anyone else around her once she's initiated the conversation. and this wasn't the first time it's happened to me, that I've been with her and a band member and she's totally shut me off. it's so dumb and so insulting. before we got downstairs, Megan and April would point out a band member, say, "OK, let's get him," or, "we've gotta get down there," or something, and then totally eye whoever it was with a blazing smile, trying to win attention. during the South part of the show, April turned to me and said, "I've got the sound guy connection," and for the rest of the show I'd catch her looking over in the sound guy's direction, lustily, while she was dancing in that slowed-down Charo-like way of hers (you know, the shoulder-tits-coochie-coochie shake that says nothing but, "this is for you"). shameless. then afterwards, Megan and April were arguing over who "totally got us downstairs." ugh. Megan monopolized Guy the whole time, and they kissed sloppily before the bouncers forced everyone out of the bar (he was completely drunk). she was so proud of herself. thank fuck the bands were leaving on their busses tonight to go to Detroit, or else I'm sure they would've gone back to any available hotel room. the whole cab ride home, April detailed parts of her conversation with the bass player from Elbow, imitating his Manchester accent horribly, and retelling me parts that during which I'd actually been present for and participating. it's like I'm invisible once they've got their tenterhooks into a band guy. the first time we met a semi-famous band after a show it was really great, fun, and it occurred totally organically. course, April fucked the keyboard player that night, but up to that point, it had all been very friendly and easygoing. now it's like hers and Megan's sole goal in going to a concert, to meet and possibly fuck the band, whereas I simply wish to enjoy the music that I came for. meeting the band can just sometimes be a happy accident, a tale to tell your friends about. whatever...just had to get that out while I was still steaming and horrified. and now I'm off to lay down in my bed, my hands and hair permeated with the smell of tobacco, and my mouth dry for lack of water. I plan to make tomorrow as effort-free and starfucker-less as possible.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com