current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

7:38 p.m. - 26 January 2002
blazing needles

aahh well it's been quite a productive day...this afternoon April and I took out the Christmas tree, which was so old and dry that anytime anyone brushed up against it, whole branches would snap off. we somehow managed to get it down the staircase and out to the dumpsters. then we spent a good 45 minutes sweeping up the broken-off needles and branches that were all over the hallway and the street outside. it was incredible--there were piles of needles incriminating us with the clear path they made to our apartment door. I guess that's what you get when you have a dead tree living in your house for over a month and you only water it like, twice.

after April left for work, I set about taking notes for the exhibition. all my work's due on Tuesday and I'm determined to finish it tonight. all that's left is for me to type up all the wall panels, which hopefully won't take more than 2 hours.

I was in the middle of my reading when I smelled smoke and then heard fire engines. I peered out the window and saw a fire truck pull up in front of our building. instantly I had a sinking sensation that it was our tree that was causing the ruckus. so I ran out the back door to peek off the balcony. I saw a fireman walking around the alley next to the dumpsters with a flashlight and quickly jumped back inside so he wouldn't see me. then I ran back inside and looked out the front window to see a crowd of people standing across the street, just looking in the direction of our alley. there was nothing else it could have been. so I ran back again to look down into the alley, and sure enough, there lay a pile of soaking wet needles and the skeleton of our former tree. I was so mortified. our tree had somehow ignited. probably didn't take much, since it was like kindling wood by the time we took it out. the funny thing is that as soon as April and I dropped it next to the dumpster earlier today, I thought to myself, 'that's totally gonna catch fire.' and it did. boy, did it. I am filled with shame.

so that's been my Saturday. for now, I must get back to work. must finish tonight. must resist television. must must must.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com