current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:27 p.m. - 10 March 2003
the end of my convalescent family time

man, this weekend was so great, despite the fact that my mouth was frozen into a chubby frown for one or two days.

most of my wisdom teeth discomfort is over; I'm still a little stiff and swollen and there are some grody yellow-green bruises that have made a home alongside my jawline. but I would say I'm 80% through the fire. I will be happy once my non-chubby, non-lumpy jawline returns, and I am still overwhelmingly elated that the whole thing is finally over! also, I LOVE PAINKILLERS. Vicoprofin gets my thumbs-up forever.

thanks to the big V, I was able to do lots with my family, which I guess was contrary to what most oral surgeons would encourage. but I didn't care. I just wish my other two sisters could've been here too!

I went to three Chicago museums with my family over the weekend. my dad was so funny at each museum: at the Field museum he'd offer his explanation of each exhibition after we'd gone through it; at the Art Institute he'd ask me question after question, like, "so the object of this style was to be a revolution to the previously accepted style...?" and would talk out his own interpretations of each painting; at the Historical Society he'd spell out to me all his background knowledge of each period. it was very cute. I always forget how much my dad knows. he's a mini-genius, in my opinion.

my mom, I discovered this weekend, isn't much of a museum person. she likes to see all the greatest hits, so-to-speak, but is loathe to spend too much time on her feet and is more of a "wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am" viewer than an actively curious learner. what she doesn't immediately understand (contemporary art, for instance), she chooses to breeze over.

my little sister, who is 13, didn't seem too enthralled by the art museum--too much at once, I guess--but was very taken in by both the Field Musuem and the Historical Society. she's a smart little cookie, that one.

besides the museum-going, my family and I did a bit of shopping, a little sight-seeing, and a lot of going out to eat. I loved not having to pay for a lick of anything this weekend. I always forget how much I had it made as a child--no job, no expenses, just livin' the easy parasite life.

my dad and little sister left today. it was a bummer saying goodbye to them. my mom's plane takes off tomorrow around 1 o'clock (she's going back to Cincinnati to stay with my grandparents for a few more days before going back home), and then I go into stupid work for a half day. I really really really don't want to go back to work. but oh well. c'est la vie. c'est la stupid vie.

I guess that's all for now. farewell for now, super-easy livin'!


p.s. I have concluded that "The Office" is now amongst my Top 10 TV Shows of all time. thank you, BBC America.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com