current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

11:35 a.m. - 25 September 2002
denim and smells

it was cold again this morning, so I wore my jean jacket to work. it's funny how jean jackets went out of fashion there for a good 10-year period, like 1989-1999, approximately. I'm not counting those acid-wash jean jackets that some people wore because they *thought* they were in fashion. but now, you can't swing a dead cat without hitting some chick or boy in a jean jacket. it was more true last year than this year, but the trend persists. it's funny how sometimes denim gets overused in fashion. like, denim jeans, good, denim jean jacket, good, denim-covered pumps, uh-oh, complete head-to-toe sleeveless denim pantsuit complete with buttons and fringey belt hanging off the side BAD BAD BAD!!!

people will wear anything. my advice for these people is: just because it's out there doesn't mean you have to buy it. also, there's a reason it's on sale.

enough of that talk.

when I made the horrid and vengeful butternut squash, my apartment filled with really lovely smells of nutmeg, cinnamon, and other spices. the squash started to smell nice too, and the aroma has lingered in my apartment since Sunday night. it's kind of nice coming home to a space that smells like baked goods, and it's very appropriate for the new fall weather. I just don't like my apartment to smell like that at all times. there's something about the stereotypical "fall" or "pumpkin" smell you find in candles and aromatherapy oils that really turns me off. it's like I get a sniff of one of those heavily-spiced smells and start to see visions of big frilly bows, corn-husk wreaths, "country"-esque kitchens, painted wooden figures of little children with smiley-face mouths, and I start to reel at the middle-aged housewife connotations. it's weird.

ugh have to work now.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com