current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

10:13 a.m. - 27 May 2003
the lassitude continues

whenever I have a three day weekend, meaning three straight days of no work, I feel like that weekend needs to consist of a precise mixture of both a lot of relaxation and a lot of activity because it's like a mini version of school being out for summer. but this three day weekend involved about 80% relaxation and 20% activity. a little too much relaxation, I think. is it possible incur muscle pain from too much laying around? I'm asking myself that right now.

Friday night I went out for a bit with Megan and we talky talkied it up at the Ginger Man. then April and her perfume (Lord, she wears way too much perfume) joined us for the last hour and it was fine...really nothing of note to report, except that a guy April fucked a few months ago for no reason was standing next to Megan and me chatting up some other blonde girl when April entered the bar. awkward and hilarious, in my mind. but mostly hilarious because I don't give a darn about him.

anyway, the three of us (M, A, me) headed back to my apartment but WHOOPS had to stop and get a hot dog before the night was through. I am making a solemn promise to myself that at no time for the next month will I devour a Chicago-style hot dog between the hours of 9pm-12pm, and especially not after having whet my whistle with loads of beer. seriously, it's not a good habit. I broke the 3am burrito habit and by God I will break this one too!

Saturday morning I woke up and sat on the couch for a while with Meg and April. then we went to the Chicago Diner for lunch. I'd never been there before and was really looking forward to it, especially since I really wanted hummus, which vegetarian restaurants tend to do well. I ended up being a bit disappointed in the end; half of my meal was a bit too dry and it just didn't do it for me. but oh well, not important really.

the three of us walked back to the apartment and resumed our couch positions to watch the various shows on television. then I decided it was time to rent some movies, so Megan and I went out and ended up getting "Adaptation" and "Two Weeks Notice." the former I think I liked better the first time--the film loses a bit when you've already become familiar with its structure and the novel ideas behind it. the latter I will never see again and would never recommend anyone ever pay money to view unless you're like me and you love looking at and listening to Hugh Grant. but even then, think twice, and then think again. it was so God awful that I feel like going into a rant about wasted money and the shittiness of Hollywood, but I won't because it's been done so many times before. God, that movie sucked. sucked balls. ok stop.

after April left for work and Megan left to return to her home base, I continued to enjoy the couch. to complete my movie-filled day, I watched "Life is Beautiful" and "La Double Vie de V�ronique" on television. I didn't quite get "La Double Vie..." which could just be me being stupid, so I think I'll read up on it a little bit. I mean, I got it, but I didn't quite get the overall significance of it. although, to be fair, this was the first Krzysztof Kieslowski (a person who I'd never even heard of before the MC Paul Barman song in which he gets a mention) film I'd ever seen, so I'm giving myself a break. moving on.

Sunday involved me and the couch again, although April too was sucked into my vortex of slack. that was when we watched the aformentioned Hugh Grant film. and, to be honest, I truly cannot remember what else we did--oh yeah, we walked around half-heartedly looking for cheap clothes and then ended up at the grocery store, where we bought weird potato chips and on-sale Diet Coke. along with a few other items. and then there was more couch and I guess that was my Sunday night.

yesterday A and I went to a barbeque at Marisa's and it was pretty nice. the weather was so perfect--warm in the shade, almost hot in the sun, but with a perfectly gentle breeze that cooled you off no matter where you were (as long as you weren't too close to the lake--colder breeze there). I haven't really started spending time outdoors yet this spring, so it was nice to do that in such a nice setting. Marisa's got a backyard, living in Roscoe Village 2-flat and all, so just sitting in the presence of grass and trees, all within arm's length, was particularly edifying.

interruption--a horribly loud new employee has started today. he's got stupidly gelled hair and is wearing a maroon silk shirt oh boy it's bad when I already dislike a new person. there's so much to be said for a good indoor voice. anyway.

yes, so back to the barbeque. I haven't seen Marisa in at least three months, and in that time she's lost like 20 pounds. it's incredible. and it's all due to that weird-ass low carb diet that I simply refuse to adopt, even though my pants are, at present, constantly ready to split open like an over-taxed damn. but that doesn't stop me from being amazed at how much thinner Marisa is. I still can't believe it. weird. I've got to stop eating so damned much. stupid penchant for inactivity and sweets and grumble grumble.

after the barbeque (which had started at 11) it was back to the apartment and the couch for a little post-beer pass out time. and then it was pizza for dinner (laziness made that happen) and then more television and the distinct feeling that I should do something like start training for a marathon crept over me before I pushed that feeling away and said to myself, "screw it." that was basically the rest of my night.

this work week should go pretty quickly, I imagine. we've got a big deadline to meet, Monday's already gone, and then Friday afternoon I'm going up to Milwaukee to stay with Amy and company for the weekend. I'm going to make them a chocolate cake as a "thank you for giving me a place to sleep" gift, the same chocolate cake I made for Stacey when she was here over her birthday weekend. the icing is a bag of chocolate chips and heavy whipping cream. it's great. and it will make the weekend great.

other than that, things continue to be slow. I've gotta make more activity for myself. or not. we'll see.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com