current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:17 a.m. - 18 June 2002
food, glorious food...free and overflowing

I'll have enjoyed a lot of free food by the end of this week. you see, it's a big meeting shindig for my work this week, and hence the free food is flowing like wine. and the free wine is flowing like water. you know.

for example, yesterday afternoon I met up with Amy and Sara to take advantage of a free lunch. my choices were the following: big-ass hot dog, big-ass bratwurst, big-ass pieces of pizza. (did I mention I live in Chicago?) these items could be complemented by pseudo-caesar salad (lettuce, croutons, slices of parmesan, creamy dressing). dessert choices included fruit, cheesecake, or a variety of ice cream bars. faced with this lack of what most people would call "balanced" choices, I went for a big-ass hot dog, some lettuce with dressing, and a small piece of pizza. I hadn't had a hot dog in probably over a year and it was damned good. for dessert I enjoyed a Dove Ice Cream Bar.

you see, I have a problem whereby the presence of a free meal propells me into this eating survival mode: I'm convinced I'll never get a free meal again and must thus try one of everything and eat as much as possible. so I always leave the table with an "I can't believe I ate the whole thing" thing going on. and then there's the inevitable too-much-food hangover.

last night was another free meal, at the home of our VP. appetizers were bruchetta, a cheesy squash bread thing, and shrimp skewered with pineapple, red peppers, and onions. now I was still a little full from lunch, mind you. but the free meal syndrome is a powerful force and I am weak against its urgings. so a few of each appetizer went into my belly.

the main course was composed of the following, served buffet-style: chicken stuffed with spinach and cheese, pork loin with pineapple, cold poached salmon, twice-baked potatoes, stuffed cabbage, long-grain rice salad (with chicken), and fresh green beans. even though I took half portions of each offering, at the end of the meal I felt like my pants were a dam wall about to burst. I don't know why I always do it to myself. I guess I just love food too much.

in other news, I sure didn't go to the gym this morning.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com