current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

9:18 a.m. - 19 April 2002
domestic disturbance

my my my this morning was jam-packed with activity.

as April's mom had planned to leave this morning, she got up early to pack and woke up April at the same time (around 6:30 or so). normally April sleeps until 8am and I guess she just kind of rolled back over to sleep some more. her mom got in the shower and then work up April again when she got out. April stayed in bed. then her mom got dressed and made coffee and work up April again to tell her coffee was ready. I was getting ready in my bathroom when I heard April's mother yelling. I thought they were just talking because her mother is rather loud, but then I heard tears in her voice and realized that she was explaining to April that she was upset that April had stayed in bed the whole time instead of spending a few last moments with her.

now. this is no way to be worken up in the morning, admittedly. no one wants to be roused from sleep by their upset or weepy mother. but common sense dictates that you placate your mother if this happens, simply humor her and agree that, yes, you have been inconsiderate.

instead, April chose to counter with "I'm sorry, I didn't do it on purpose," yelled in a rather snotty tone. then she stated that she'd rearranged her schedule especially for her mother's visit and added, "are you aware that I got up an hour earlier than I normally do so I could spend some time with you before work?" to which her mother countered, "oh, I didn't want to inconvenience you." then her mother requested April simply think about the reason she was crying and April stated, "I have. I think you're crazy." this continued, ad nauseum, as I hurridly tried to slap on my makeup and throw together my lunch so I could slink out of there, unnoticed. it was pret-ty ugly, and escalated beyond what I could've imagined.

of course, just as I had gathered up everything, the pair of them emerged from April's bedroom. April stomped around the living room and her mother continued packing her clothes. so I slipped by April to go tell her mother goodbye. she apologized for my having to see them arguing. I hugged her, told her it was ok and to have a good drive. then I said a quick "see ya later..." to April and ran out the door, only to realize that I'd left my bus pass in my other bag. so I ran back in as fast as possible, muttered something about my bus pass, and ran right out again before I had to look anyone in the eye. it was horribly awkward.

during the entirety of her mother's visit, I'd noticed April acting much brattier than ever before. it was hard to watch. she and her mother have a complicated history: April's father left them when she was only 3 years old, and her mother was only around 19 at the time. her mother has never remarried and she and April grew up right on the poverty line. they were on Welfare for quite some time when April was small. despite all of this, her mother was able to get a master's degree in education and April was able to complete her bachelor's degree in theater at a reputable college. however, April is not without her share of residual problems resulting from her childhood.

while April's mother can get rather grating, I would think that her past sacrifices would prompt April to be more accommodating. often are the times that I disagree with my parents or feel like arguing, but out of respect for all they've given me and done for me, I restrain myself.* I wish April could've exercised some restraint this morning. it's a horrible way to send off your mother, especially when she's got a 14-hour drive ahead of her.

* it took one year of nannying three children with two horrible parents to appreciate how great my mother and father are, mind you.


April just called. she and her mother had a big talk after I left, and she says now everything is fine.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com