current entry
older entries
profile
survey!

gbook
notes

design
hosted by..

2:15 p.m. - 22 January 2003
AI, crazy, rock, roll, cold

American Idol last night was just as fulfilling as I hoped, although they didn't show enough of that guy who did the step routine for my liking. the best part, in my view, happened after a male Asian contestant exited the audition room victorious and violently chest-slammed (wrong term? you know, like a high-five but using your chest and not your hands) his brother who was waiting outside. a half second later, the freak-of-nature host of the show yelled enthusiastically, "do you guys do kung-fu?!?" and then the three of them started posing in vaguely martial arts-ish ways. why didn't the host just yell, "do you cook with a wok?!?" or something equally racist? what a horror. what a hilarious horror.

I just spent 15 minutes talking on the phone with a woman who was very clearly disturbed. and I know I've spoken to her before. after 15 minutes of me repeating, "I'm sorry, I can't provide you with any assistance," finally she said, "ok. well thank you for listening," and hung up. details she shared with me included that she makes her own floral arrangements for her husband's grave and that she works in "a place that can only be called 'Hell'." it was a bit excruciating.

I'm going to a concert this weekend for the first time since I got back from being home over the holidays. I've been missing my concert-going life lately, so it'll be a nice catch-up. also, Megan made out with her 2nd Chicago rocker this past weekend so I'll be interested to see how that dynamic plays out should one or both of the boys be at the show. she's walking a dangerous line--they all know each other, and before she knows it she could have a name attached to her face. I've seen it happen before. it's never flattering.

tonight the low is -30 Fahrenheit. I plan to not leave my apartment once.

boy are things slow here.

<last entry next entry>
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
hosted by DiaryLand.com